| |
Databases by Subject |
| |
|
Due to the
lack of state funding, the existing multiyear contracts with NJKI
database
vendors have ended effective February 28. Journal articles and data are no
longer accessible through NJKI for the next four months. We hope and
expect to have an NJKI program available in the '09 state budget to
begin July 1, 2008. If you would like to contact the Governor's
office about this, click here for contact information. Click on the subject below to see the databases
Please note that any database with this logo
is
unavailable until July 1.
|
General
Animals
Art
Automobiles
Biography
Books & Literature
Business
Children/Students
|
Current Events
Education & Careers
Encyclopedias
En Español
Genealogy
Health & Medicine
History
Home Repair
|
Images
Law
Magazines & Journals
Newspapers
Nursing
Science
Students (K-College) |
|
North Brunswick
Public Library Cardholders can access most of these databases for free
from home or other remote locations.
Click on the database name and you will be prompted to enter your library barcode number. This is the 14-digit number on
the back of your
library card that begins with 2930.
Databases that are available only in the library are noted as such.
Some databases have a red link for home access, and Historical
Newspapers uses a username and a password, both of which are listed with
the database.
Databases with this logo
are presented free to our library from the New Jersey Knwoledge
Initiative. Click the logo for more information about the
Initiative. Please note that any database with this logo
is
unavailable until July 1.
Databases with this logo
are presented free to our library from the State Library of New Jersey.
Click the logo for more information about the State Library.
General
JerseyClicks 
Jersey Clicks is New Jersey's statewide portal that features federated
searching of the statewide full-text databases offered by the New Jersey
State Library, the New Jersey Network, and funds from the Library
Services and Technology Act.
Libraries
Of Middlesex Automation Consortium: 360 Search
In-library use only.
360 Search allows quick
access to all of the databases available through LMXAC. One
keyword searches any databases that you wish to select. It is
quick and provides multiple results.
To access this search engine from home
using your library bar code, use this link:
360 Search
Reference USA
A directory of over 12,000,000 businesses in the US
that can be sorted by geography, size, type of business, and other
criteria. Also includes residential listings.
General cont.
EbscoHost
(EBSCOhost)

Select EBSCOhost Web for a menu of databases, which includes
MasterFILE Premier, offering full-text articles from over 1,800
magazines and journals covering nearly all subjects.
Infotrac General Reference Center
(Thomson Gale)
Infotrac
provides access to articles and abstracts from hundreds of magazines,
newspapers, and reference books, with an emphasis on current events,
popular culture, sports, and entertainment.
Academic Search Premiere (EBSCOhost)

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500
journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred
journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles.
Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Directory of Open Access Journals
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and
scholarly journals. We aim to cover all subjects and languages.
The Internet Public Library
The Internet Public Library (IPL) features a searchable,
subject-categorized directory of authoritative websites; links to online
texts, newspapers, etc.
Librarians' Internet Index
Searchable and annotated subject directory of Internet resources
selected and evaluated by librarians for their usefulness to users of
public libraries.
MAS Ultra: Magazine Articles Summaries
(EBSCOhost)
This database provides more than 350 full text reference
books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an
Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags.
MasterFILE Premier
(EBSCOhost)

Full text for nearly 1,950 general reference publications with full text
information, covering virtually every subject area of general interest.
Also includes nearly 500 full-text reference books; 84,011 biographies;
83,472 primary source documents; and an Image Collection of 192,999
photos, maps, and flags.
^Top
|
|
Animals
EBSCO Animals (EBSCOhost)
Provides in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to
animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text
records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.
^Top
Art
Artcyclopedia
A comprehensive index of every artist represented at
hundreds of museum sites, image archives, and other online resources.
Artstor
(The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation)
ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the
areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a
set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and
pedagogical purposes.
^Top
Automobiles
We have a free 60 day trial for two automotive databases
starting Feb. 1
Small Engine Repair Reference Center
SERRC contains the full set of small engine repair manuals
from Clymer (http://www.clymer.com/).
These manuals contain thousands of accurate and concise step-by-step
maintenance and repair instructions for hundreds of small engine
machines and their supporting components. Routine maintenance, such as
tune-ups and brake service, as well as more extensive repairs involving
engine transmission disassembly are covered. Engines types include:
motorcycles, ATVs, personal water craft, snowmobiles, lawn mowers,
tractors, snow blowers, generators, and more. Detailed and user-friendly
content is provided in high-quality PDF files.
&
Auto Repair Reference Center
With manuals for cars from 1945-2007
Click here to access the website
Type in this User ID
s9149613 and
this password:
trial
Let us know if you use and like these databases!
Chilton Library Online
ChiltonLibrary provides
exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step
repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance
schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs)
for automobiles and light trucks in one easy-to-use web site.
^Top
Biography & Genealogy
Ancestry Library (ProQuest)
Genealogical and historical information from census, military, church,
vital, court, land, and probate records; also passenger lists and more.
In-library use only.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (Thomson Gale)
Index tool for learning where to look for biographical material on
people from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of
endeavor.
Biography Collection Complete
(EBSCOhost)
Biography Collection Complete offers a comprehensive collection of
full-text biographies supporting history, science, the arts, music,
literature, multicultural studies, gender studies, business, government
& politics, sports, entertainment and many other areas. This database
features more than 177,000 full-text biographies from many different
sources.
Biography Resource Center
(Thomson Gale)
Find people by name, birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity,
occupation, or gender.
Family Search
FamilySearch.org is a non-profit service sponsored by The Church of
Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. We believe that every person is
important and that families are meant to be both sacred and eternal. We
encourage all people to find their ancestors and preserve their family
histories. To help in this great pursuit, the Church has been actively
gathering and preserving genealogical records worldwide for over 100
years.
HeritageQuest
(ProQuest)
Database for researching family histories.
Click
here
for home access using your barcode.
^Top
|
|
Books &
Literature
Bartelby.com
The preeminent Internet publisher of literature, reference and verse
providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with
unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge
Contemporary Authors
(Thomson Gale)
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical
information and references on all of the more than 120,000 U.S. and
international authors whose entries appear in Contemporary Authors and
Contemporary Authors New Revision Series. Updated monthly, Contemporary
Authors allows users to search for an author by name, title of work,
nationality, date and place of birth and death, subject/genre, personal
and career information, awards and honors, and more.
Literary Reference Center Direct
(EBSCOhost)
The Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a highly graphical
interface intended for public, academic and high school libraries. The
primary goal of LRC is to assist high school and undergraduate English
and Humanities students with homework and research assignments of a
literary nature.
Literary Reference Center (part of EBSCOhost)
(EBSCOhost)
Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a comprehensive literary
reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of
reference information from antiquity to the present day. LRC is a
completely full-text database that combines information from over 1,000
books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works,
hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere
else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and
their works and is an essential resource for public, academic and high
school libraries.
Literature Resource Center
(Thomson Gale)
Looking for information about a novelist, poet, or other writer? This
database provides single search access to literary biographies and
critical analyses of over 120,000 authors.
Novelist (EBSCOhost)

An electronic readers' advisory resource which assists fiction readers
in finding new authors and titles.
^Top
|
|
Business/Finance
Standard
and Poor's NetAdvantage
(Standard
and Poor's)
A comprehensive source of business
and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poor’s
independent research, data and commentary on stocks, bonds, funds, and
industries.
To access from home, the login is case sensitive with no spaces:
NorthBrunswick
The password is your library card number with no spaces:
starting with
29302...
A.M. Best Company
Access for insurance company
research, including presentation repoirts, BestAlert Service and Best's
Review.
Business Source Elite (EBSCOhost)
Full text of over 1,000 business publications, plus detailed company
information from Datamonitor.
Business
Source Premiere
(EBSCOhost)

Business Source Premier, is the
industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for
more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100
peer-reviewed business publications. Journal ranking studies reveal that
Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text
coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing,
management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Business Source
Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing
journals including Harvard Business Review, California Management
Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal,
Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review,
Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management,
Journal
of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of
International Marketing, etc. The database also includes other sources
of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU,
Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch and detailed company
profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Business Source
Premier provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly
journals dating as far back as 1922, including Academy of Management
Journal is available back to 1958, Accounting Review to 1926,
Administrative Science Quarterly to 1956, California Management Review
to 1958, Industrial & Labor Relations Review to 1947, Journal of
Accounting Research to 1963, Journal of Finance to 1946, Journal of
Marketing to 1936, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR) to 1964,
Management Science to 1954, Operations Research to 1956, etc. Additional
full text, non-journal content includes market research reports,
industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Corporate ResourceNet (EBSCOhost)
Corporate ResourceNet is designed to meet the diverse
information needs of today’s companies. This database contains full text
articles from nearly 1,200 quality magazines and journals.
Legal Forms
(Thomson Gale)
Provides a wide
selection of printable legal forms across the most popular legal areas.
Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements,
bankruptcy, divorce, landlord, tenant, and many others.
MorningStar Mutual Funds Online
(Morningstar)
Provides fast and easy access to Morningstar Mutual
Funds in a PDF format. Download the latest issue under Most Recent
Issue, select an entire group of funds to review under Download Reports
by Category, or find a specific fund under Search.
To access, click the above link and then login with this email and
password:
Email address is:
morningstar@northbrunswicklibrary.org
Password is:
library
New Jersey Association of County Tax Boards
Tax,
assessment, and home sale prices for most New Jersey counties.
Reference USA
A directory of over 12,000,000 businesses in the US
that can be sorted by geography, size, type of business, and other
criteria. Also includes residential listings.
Regional Business News
(EBSCOhost)
Provides
comprehensive full text coverage for 75 regional business publications
from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Scitopia.org
The federated vertical search portal
scitopia.org was created through
the imagination and collaboration of 15 leading science and technology
societies. Searching for a better way to help researchers quickly
get to the quality content they need, these society publishers developed
a gateway to the research most cited in scholarly work and patents.
Scitopia.org searches the entire electronic libraries of the leading
voices in major science and technology disciplines and provides relevant
results, without the noise of other Internet search engines. More than
three million documents, including peer-reviewed journal content and
technical conference papers, spanning 150 years of science and
technology can be searched through the site.
^Top
|
|
|
|
Current events
American FactFinder
(US Census Bureau)
Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
Points of View Reference Center
(EBSCOhost)
The Points of View Reference Center is an interface intended
for public, academic, and high school libraries. Points of View
is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of
controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use
Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments,
writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking
skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of
questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also
included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top
political and societal publications.
^Top
|
|
Education & Careers

We have a free 60 day trial for this database starting Feb. 1
COIN CAREER LIBRARY
Assess yourself for Career Choices. Find scholarships, even look
for a college with this Career Library. Assess your career
interests and explore information pertaining to occupations and
colleges. Obtain printable resources and gather information that will
assist with planning to enter college or the workforce. College and
career planning checklists. Search for web resources related to
colleges, careers, curriculum, and much more! Test your knowledge on
history, vocabulary, math, English, and occupations while enjoying
yourself and racking up COIN points.
Click here to access the website
Type in this User ID
trialnj and
this password:
2743200
Let us know if you use and like these databases!
Learning Express (LearningExpressLibrary.com)
Interactive
online learning tool featuring tutorial courses, and many practice tests
such as SAT, AP, GRE, TOEFL and Civil Service, plus downloadable prep
e-books. Designed to help students and adult learners, this resource
provides immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an
individualized analysis of your results.
ERIC
(EBSCOhost)
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides
access to education literature and resources. The database provides
access to information from journals included in the Current Index of
Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC
provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for
additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000
educational and education-related journals.
Library, Information Science & Technology
Abstracts
(EBSCOhost)
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts,(LISTA)
indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and
proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification,
cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information
management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the
mid-1960s.
Professional Development Collection
(EBSCOhost)
Professional Development Collection, designed for professional
educators, provides a highly specialized collection of 520 high quality
education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. This
database also contains more than 200 educational reports. This is the
most comprehensive and most valuable collection of full text education
journals in the world. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts
are provided for more than 700 journals. Examples of titles offered in
Professional Development Collection include: Booklist, Curriculum
Administrator, Education, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, High
School Journal, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research,
Journal of Learning Disabilities, Phi Delta Kappan, Reading Teacher,
School Library Journal, and many others. The majority of full text
titles included in the database are available in native (searchable)
PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in the Professional
Development Collection dates as far back as 1965.
^Top
|
|
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia Britannica (Encyclopedia
Britannica Online)
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's
Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year.
For login from home with your library card, click this link.
Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia (EbscoHost)
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering
a variety of subject areas.
World Book Online
(World Book Online)
Comprehensive access to encyclopedia articles, web links, periodical
articles, videos, maps, and more.
^Top
|
|
en Español
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (World
Book Online)
La Enciclopedia estudiantil hallazgos en línea es una enciclopedia de
conocimientos generales. Contiene información sobre gente, lugares,
objetos, acontecimientos e ideas.
Informé
(Thomson Gale)
Informe
(revistas en Español) es una coleccíon de artículos y reportajes de
períodicos y revistas, excerptos de libros, y algunos mapas. La base de
datos contiene más de 75,000 citaciones de aproximadamente 65 fuentes y
está actualizada diariamente.
Salud en Espanol
(EBSCOhost)

Salud en Español provee reportes completos basados en evidencias y
fichas de datos relacionados a todos los aspectos de la salud y el
bienestar. Reportes específicos por tema que cubren todos los aspectos
de la salud, dan información general importante en relación a
enfermedades, afecciones y procedimientos de diversos tratamientos.
^Top
|
|
Health and
Medicine/Nursing

We have a free 60 day trial for this database starting Feb. 1
EBSCO ELDERCARE
With information about nursing homes, assisted living, home health and
hospices. Evaluations of facilities are also provided.
Click here to access the website
Type in this User ID
s9149613 and
this password:
trial
Let us know if you use and like these databases!
AARP Ageline
(AARP)
AgeLine abstracts the literature of social gerontology as well as
aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work,
economics, public policy, and the health sciences. It covers
aging-related issues for professionals in aging services, health,
business, law, and mental health. AgeLine also includes selected
consumer content.
Biomedical
Reference Collection: Expanded
(EBSCOhost)

Biomedical Reference Collection: Expanded Edition provides
doctors, research scientists, students and clinical specialists with
access to over 200 full text journals, including 200 peer-reviewed
journals. This database covers such disciplines as clinical medicine,
nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the
pre-clinical sciences. Full text publications available in the database
include: American Surgeon, American Journal of Public Health, Annals
of Human Biology, British Journal of Surgery, CMAJ: Canadian Medical
Association Journal, European Journal of Nuclear Medicine, Journal of
Gastroenterology, Journal of Internal Medicine, Lung and many more.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Expanded Edition can be
searched independently, but also allows users to conveniently link to
full text from citations within MEDLINE. When the MEDLINE
database is accessed via EBSCOhost, users may have the ability
to link to full text for articles contained within the Biomedical
Reference Collection: Expanded Edition database. The majority of
full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or
scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates back to
1985.
Clinical Pharmacology
(EBSCOhost)

Clinical Pharmacology provides access to up-to-date, concise, and
clinically-relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs;
hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements; over-the-counter
products; and new and investigational drugs.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
(EBSCOhost)
TThis database is the richest collection of consumer health
information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on
many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and
nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health
Source: Consumer Edition features more than 130 full text, consumer
health magazines. This database is updated on a weekly basis.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
(EBSCOhost)

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals
focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic
Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.
This database is updated twice a week.
Healthy New Jersey
HealthyNJ is a product of the University Libraries at the University of
Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey. The Consumer Health Information
Task Force, comprised of librarians from each of the four UMDNJ Campus
Libraries, developed the content of the Web Site to meet the health care
information needs of consumers, particularly the citizens of New Jersey.
HealthyNJ also has relevance for NJ based policy makers and health care
professionals. Content on the pages is selected and developed based on
criteria including currency, accuracy, and relevance. Links are
constantly monitored for viability and changes are made as necessary. We
strive to abide by the Health On the Net Principles and adhere to the
guidelines put forward by the Health Summit Working Group. In 2004
HealthyNJ began a partnership with staff from the Sala Hispanoamericana
at the Newark Public Library to help grow the Spanish-language content
of the site.
Medline Plus
MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health
questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from
NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government
agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE
searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical
journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about
drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient
tutorials, and latest health news.
Nursing and
Allied Health Coaliton: Expanded
(EBSCOhost)
Nursing & Allied Health Collection: Expanded is a
valuable resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students,
educators and researchers. This database contains nearly 200 full text
journals, including more than 150 peer-reviewed titles covering the
areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and
allied health disciplines. In addition to the full text, indexing and
abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection. Examples of
publications covered in Nursing & Allied Health Collection: Expanded
Edition include: Dimensions of Critical Care Nursing,
International Nursing Review, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing,
Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of
Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of
Nursing Management, MEDSURG Nursing, Nursing, Nursing Management,
and many more. The Nursing & Allied Health Collection can be
searched independently, but also allows users from subscribing
institutions to conveniently link to full text from citations within
CINAHL, as all full text journals covered in this database are also
indexed in CINAHL. The majority of full text titles in the
Nursing & Allied Health Collection: Basic Edition are available in
native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in
this database dates as far back as 1985.
Pubmed Central
PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH)
free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
^Top
|
|
History
History Reference Center
(EBSCOhost)
History Reference Center offers full text from more than 2,000
reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover
full text for more than 120 history periodicals, more than 59,600
historical documents, 49,600 biographies of historical figures, more
than 110,200 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of
historical video.
The New Jersey Digital Highway
The New Jersey Digital Highway is your "one stop shop" for New Jersey
history and culture, from the collections of NJ libraries, museums,
archives and historical societies.
Today in History
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to
written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images,
prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Home Repair
We have a free 60 day trial for this database starting Feb. 1

HOME IMPROVEMENT REFERENCE CENTER
The Home Improvement Reference Center (HIRC) is a full text
database accessible via a custom EBSCO interface. It is intended for use
in public and academic libraries and is designed to assist homeowners in
do-it-yourself home repair, maintenance, and remodeling projects.
Step-by-step instructions for thousands of projects in the areas of
plumbing, outdoor, woodworking, electrical, and decorating are provided
in high-quality PDF files.
Click here to access the website
Type in this User ID
s9149613 and
this password:
trial
Let us know if you use and like these databases!
|
|
Images
EbscoHost
(EBSCOhost)
Users may
set limits to search images only within this multidiscipline database.
New York Times Historical (1851-2003)
(ProQuest)
Access articles and images from the New York Times.
Click
here
for home access using your barcode.
World Book Online Reference Center
(World Book Online)
Comprehensive access to encyclopedia articles, web links, periodical
articles, videos, maps, images and more.
^Top
|
|
Law
Legal Forms
(Thomson Gale)
Provides a wide
selection of printable legal forms across the most popular legal areas.
Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements,
bankruptcy, divorce, landlord, tenant, and many others. Also included
are a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal
definitions explained in laymen's language.
Westlaw Online
(Westlaw.com)
NJ, US & state statutes, NJ Administrative Code, NJ & US court
decisions, the complete "New Jersey Practice" series, legal forms, and
law review articles.
ACCESS TO WESTLAW IS ONLY AVAILABLE ON COMPUTER
#20 IN THE LIBRARY. Click on the Westlaw Internet Explorer Icon on
the desktop for password-free access.
^Top
|
|
Magazines and
Journals
Consumer Reports
(EBSCOhost)
Type "Consumer Reports" in the publication field. Please note that
there is a three month embargo on the most recent issues online.
MasterFile Premiere
(EBSCOhost)
MasterFILE Premier offers full-text articles from over 1,800
magazines and journals covering nearly all subjects.
Infotrac General Reference Center
(Thomson Gale)
Infotrac
provides access to articles and abstracts from hundreds of magazines,
newspapers, and reference books, with an emphasis on current events,
popular culture, sports, and entertainment.
JerseyClicks
Access to 15
databases that may be searched simultaneously or users can create a
"Custom" search.
MAS Ultra: Magazine Articles Summaries
(EBSCOhost)
This database provides more than 350 full text reference
books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an
Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags.
^Top
|
|
Newspapers
Historical Newspapers - New York Times
(1851-2001)
(ProQuest)
Easy-to-use, intuitive interface for accessing complete coverage of The
New York Times from 1851-2001.
Username: 18-73371 Password: bigchalk
The McClatchy-Tribune Collection
(EBSCOhost)
The McClatchy-Tribune Collection includes a 90-day archive of approximately 290 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune Information Services. This database is updated daily.
Infotrac Custom Newspapers
(includes current New York Times)
(Thomson Gale)

Search for
full-text articles from:
Bergen Record: January 1996 to present
Newark Star-Ledger: January 1996 to present
New York Times: 2001 to present
New York Times Historical (1851-2003)
(ProQuest)
Access articles from the New York Times from 1851 to 2003.
Click
here
for home access using your barcode.
Newspaper Source
(EBSCOhost)
Newspaper Source provides selected full text for 25
national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains
full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text
for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers. This database is updated
daily via EBSCOhost.
^Top |
Science
Scitopia.org
The federated vertical search portal
scitopia.org was created through
the imagination and collaboration of 15 leading science and technology
societies. Searching for a better way to help researchers quickly
get to the quality content they need, these society publishers developed
a gateway to the research most cited in scholarly work and patents.
Scitopia.org searches the entire electronic libraries of the leading
voices in major science and technology disciplines and provides relevant
results, without the noise of other Internet search engines. More than
three million documents, including peer-reviewed journal content and
technical conference papers, spanning 150 years of science and
technology can be searched through the site.
Science Reference Center
(EBSCOhost)
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database
that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented
content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science
encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered
include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental
science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics,
science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and
wildlife.
^Top
Students
Students, K-3
Kids Search (EBSCOhost)
General reference database for those in grades K-8.
Novelist K-8:
(EBSCOhost)
NoveList K-8 allows you to discover the fiction titles that are popular
with young readers as well as titles to use in your classroom. The
NoveList Learning Center provides a complete introduction to the product
and shows you how to use NoveList to meet the reading needs of your
students. You can access the Learning Center by clicking on its link in
the left hand column of your screen.
PrimarySearch (EBSCOhost)
Primary Search,designed specifically for elementary school libraries
and public library children’s rooms, contains full text for nearly 70
popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are
assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to the full
text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100
magazines. Examples of publications covered in Primary Search include:
Appleseeds, Boys’ Life, Cobblestone, Cricket, Highlights for Children,
Hopscotch, Jack & Jill, Ladybug, Ranger Rick, Science World, Spider,
SuperScience, Time for Kids, Turtle, and many more. This database also
provides the American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, 3rd Edition from
Houghton Mifflin, and an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps and
flags. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF,
or scanned-in-color. Full text backfiles go as far back as 1990, while
indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as 1985.
Searchasaurus (EBSCOhost)
Specialized search interface for elementary and middle school students
featuring fun dinosaur graphics.
Students, Grades 3 -6
Kids Search (EBSCOhost)
General reference database for those in grades K-8.
Novelist K-8
(EBSCOhost)
NoveList K-8 allows you to discover the fiction titles that are popular
with young readers as well as titles to use in your classroom. The
NoveList Learning Center provides a complete introduction to the product
and shows you how to use NoveList to meet the reading needs of your
students. You can access the Learning Center by clicking on its link in
the left hand column of your screen.
PrimarySearch
(EBSCOhost)
Primary Search,designed specifically for elementary school libraries
and public library children’s rooms, contains full text for nearly 70
popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are
assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to the full
text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100
magazines. Examples of publications covered in Primary Search include:
Appleseeds, Boys’ Life, Cobblestone, Cricket, Highlights for Children,
Hopscotch, Jack & Jill, Ladybug, Ranger Rick, Science World, Spider,
SuperScience, Time for Kids, Turtle, and many more. This database also
provides the American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, 3rd Edition from
Houghton Mifflin, and an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps and
flags. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF,
or scanned-in-color. Full text backfiles go as far back as 1990, while
indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as 1985.
Searchasaurus (EBSCOhost)
Specialized search interface for elementary and middle school students
featuring fun dinosaur graphics.
Student Research Center
(EBSCOhost)
General reference database for those in grades 6-12.
Students, Middle School
Kids Search (EBSCOhost)
General reference database for those in grades K-8.
MasterFILE Premier
(EBSCOhost)
Full text for nearly 1,950 general reference publications with full text
information, covering virtually every subject area of general interest.
Also includes nearly 500 full-text reference books; 84,011 biographies;
83,472 primary source documents; and an Image Collection of 192,999
photos, maps, and flags.
MiddleSearch Plus
(EBSCOhost)

Middle Search Pluscontains full text for 140 popular, middle school
magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator
(Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and
historical essays. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary
source documents including Essential Documents in American History,
reference books including the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia and
American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition from Houghton Mifflin, the
Encyclopedia of Animals, and an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps
and flags.
Novelist K-8:
(EBSCOhost)
NoveList K-8 allows you to discover the fiction titles that are popular
with young readers as well as titles to use in your classroom. The
NoveList Learning Center provides a complete introduction to the product
and shows you how to use NoveList to meet the reading needs of your
students. You can access the Learning Center by clicking on its link in
the left hand column of your screen.
Student Research Center
(EBSCOhost)
General reference database for those in grades 6-12.
TOPICsearch
(EBSCOhost)
Current events database covering social, political, and economic issues;
scientific discoveries; and other popular topics discussed in today's
classrooms.
Students, High School
MasterFILE Premier
(EBSCOhost)
Full text for nearly 1,950 general reference publications with full text
information, covering virtually every subject area of general interest.
Also includes nearly 500 full-text reference books; 84,011 biographies;
83,472 primary source documents; and an Image Collection of 192,999
photos, maps, and flags.
MAS Ultra - Magazine Article Summaries School Edition
(EBSCOhost)

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains
full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra –
School Edition also provides more than 350 full text reference
books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an
Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags.
Student Research Center
(EBSCOhost)
General reference database for those in grades 6-12.
TOPICsearch
(EBSCOhost)
Current events database covering social, political, and economic issues;
scientific discoveries; and other popular topics discussed in today's
classrooms.
Students, College
Academic Search Premiere (EBSCOhost)

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500
journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred
journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles.
Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Business
Source Premiere
(EBSCOhost)

Business Source Premier, is the
industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for
more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100
peer-reviewed business publications. Journal ranking studies reveal that
Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text
coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing,
management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Business Source
Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing
journals including Harvard Business Review, California Management
Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal,
Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review,
Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management,
Journal
of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of
International Marketing, etc. The database also includes other sources
of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU,
Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch and detailed company
profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Business Source
Premier provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly
journals dating as far back as 1922, including Academy of Management
Journal is available back to 1958, Accounting Review to 1926,
Administrative Science Quarterly to 1956, California Management Review
to 1958, Industrial & Labor Relations Review to 1947, Journal of
Accounting Research to 1963, Journal of Finance to 1946, Journal of
Marketing to 1936, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR) to 1964,
Management Science to 1954, Operations Research to 1956, etc. Additional
full text, non-journal content includes market research reports,
industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Digital Commons
Institutional Repositories
Institutional Repositories (IRs) bring together all of an
institution's research under one umbrella, with an aim to preserve and
provide access to that research. IRs are an excellent vehicle for
working papers or published articles and conference papers.
Presentations, senior theses, and other works not published elsewhere
can also be published in the IR.
Student Research Center
(EBSCOhost)
General reference database for those in grades 6-12.
^Top
We would appreciate your contacting the Governor's
office by mail at PO Box 0001, Trenton NJ 08625; by phone at
609-292-6000; or by email go to
http://www.state.nj.us/governor/govmail.html
,
select “Commerce” as your topic,
then “Small Business” as your sub-topic, as well as your local
legislators (go to
http://www.njleg.state.nj.us/members/legsearch.asp
to locate their contact information) to let them know what the NJKI
databases meant to you in terms of helping you grow your business,
conduct your research or earn your degree. We hope you will strike a
positive tone as you urge the Governor and local legislators to resume
supporting this statewide shared service that had 15 million uses over
the past two years while simultaneously saving $68.5 million dollars
over retail prices.
|
|
Problems, comments or questions about the website?
Please contact
pdebraski@northbrunswicklibrary.org |