Are you stumped on what to read next? The library offers a Reader’s Advisory service that will help you discover that next great page turner!
  • You can browse around yourself with some recommendations from the staff.  We’ve prepared themed lists for every age, interest or type.  Browse around and find a hidden gem.  We’re constantly adding new lists, so keep checking back.  Click here to access all of our booklists.
  • Libraries are full of readers, not the least of whom are staff! If you are curious about what our staff is reading, listening to or watching, this is the spot to find out. Check out our Staff Picks Blog.

 

  • Other great websites to help you choose:
    • Goodreads – A huge community of readers that share their favorites and give reviews on what they’ve read.
    • Gnooks is probably the simplest of any of the sites of this kind, with absolutely no bells and whistles. Search for an author’s name and you will be presented with a visual map of similar authors. The closer the suggestions are to the search word, the more similar they are. Clicking on a name in the map will lead you to another visualization of similar authors.
    • Guys Read – Think reading is just for girls? No way! This website by award-winning writer Jon Scieszka gives tons of great recommendations for guys (and girls, too!).
    • Library Thing. Boasting over one million members and a book catalog nearing 70 million titles, this site is for serious book lovers. Similar to Shelfari and GoodReads, Library Thing lets you create a profile and view what your friends are reading, as well as browse their substantive catalog.
    • NextReads – Sign up for a newsletter and you’ll find out what’s coming out next and get awesome book lists emailed to you regularly.
    • No Flying No Tights (Graphic novels) – A great resource for finding out about new graphic novels, comics and manga!
    • Shelfari. Forget a Sub-Saharan African safari; cruise the exotic cyber bookshelves on this site, powered by Amazon. Shelfari is a community-supported encyclopedia — the social network of the book world, if you will.
    • YourNextRead, where you can look up specific titles to get recommendations on similar books. In some cases, the list consists only of titles by the very same author, which completely defeats the purpose, but in other cases it actually does generate an interesting list.